KOLKATA

We started our journey at Delhi and travel to Pushkar-Jaipur-Agra-Mathura-Vrindavan-Haridwar-Rishikesh-Mussoorie-Ayodhya-Allahabad-Varanasi-Sarnath-Bodhgaya-Gaya. In total we traveled 1600kms, visited 13 towns in 18 days.

Our next destination is Kolkata, which is final destination in our India trip.

20130330-112316.jpg We drive from Gaya to Kolkata, it is a 7 hours journey. We arrived around 7pm and Kolkata greeted us with heavy traffic jam, for almost 2 hours we stuck in traffic.

20130330-113827.jpg My first shot of Kolkata.

I was really shocked of the street scenes, the whole environment was totally different, compare with other cities in India. People were living on sidewalks, bathing and doing what not by the sideways filled with gutters and filth. The whole city seemed to be in a time wrap, late by 40 years. I was very sad, after witness the sufferings of people here.

20130330-130222.jpg According to history, around 1950s Kolkata was most developed city, compare with Mumbai and Delhi. Kolkata had it all, tram, first underground train, first bank, top university, efficient civic administration and so on. Furthermore, also had a long history of producing top peoples; Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Swami Vivekananda, Rabindranath Tagore, Satyendranath Bose and Jagadish Chandra Bose. With all the great achievements, it always puzzling me what really went wrong.

20130330-132613.jpg As we explore the city, I realised that Kolkata is unique and people here does things in its own unique way and creative on their own way. I have to say that, ordinary people cannot survive here, one need to be intelligent to survive in this chaotic city.

20130330-134936.jpg After explore the city, we visit Kalighat temple; famous temple of mother Goddess Kali. Our driver advice us not to bring any valuables to the temple, even camera. The temple environment was “happening”, crowded and chaotic but it was heavenly experience. The spiritual energy was very strong. The only problem is the priests and the nearby shopkeepers that try to take advantage of us to make money.

20130330-142559.jpg Not far from our hotel is Howrah Bridge. We walked on the bridge and watch the people crossing it in all manner of vehicles and on foot. For me it is one of the 7 wonders of India because it was build without any nuts and bolts.

20130330-145046.jpg India is one of the world largest mango producing country and for Indians mango is a fruit of Gods. We bought some mangos and the taste like paradise.

Due to constraint of time we couldn’t visit other attractions. There is more to see and explore in Kolkata. Definitely I will visit Kolkata again.

This entry was posted in INDIA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to KOLKATA

  1. eaxolotlm1 says:

    Hey, thanks so much for checking out my blog! I love what you’re doing with your photo combinations, you’ve got some really stunning shots. Makes me want to take a detour into India. πŸ™‚ I hope your trip continues to go well!

    Cheers,
    Eric

    • Mugen says:

      Hi Eric,

      Thanks for your comment.
      I hope you will enjoy visiting India. So many things to do and to explore. Because India is full of colours, photo taking is just will be second nature for most of the tourist.

  2. Hey I love your photos! You really capture just the natural hustle and bustle of the streets, well done πŸ™‚

  3. Citizen Tom says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog as well.

    Interesting pictures and commentary.

    As to your question about Kolkata,…. something always goes wrong. Such is the nature of the world.

    I know nothing about the history of Kolkata. So I cannot comment on Kolkata specifically, but success always creates problems and attracts trouble. Poverty is suffering. Yet if we choose to live without wisdom (and to some extent we all do), we will create troubles for ourselves, or we will attract the envy of our neighbors.

    What happened in Kolkata? If you decide to investigate, I will be curious to see what you learn. Feel free to paste a link on one of my posts.

    • Mugen says:

      Hi There,

      Thank you for you comment. Since my visit, I start reading more books about India, and one particular problem India facing is Population. I have no idea on real problems but I think Calcutta is over populated. Anyway, Calcutta is very interesting place to visit. Stay connected…

  4. Rosemarie says:

    Very interesting photos and information. Thank you.

  5. Marian says:

    Such a vivid travel blog – I love what you’re choosing to photograph. Will definitely be keeping up with your adventures. Thank you for visiting my blog, too.

  6. Hi Mugen!
    Thank you for visiting my blog (Tartan Ink) today. I absolutely love yours. I’ve looked through quite a few of your posts and enjoyed them so much. It was like being along on your journeys. You have a great eye and such a fabulous way of describing the sights, sounds, and soul of the places you visit. That’s beautiful. I signed on to follow your blog and am excited to see your continued travels. I spent many years traveling the world, too, and share your enthusiasm for different places and cultures and also the mysterious.
    Thanks for such a wonderful blog.
    All the best to you!

  7. I enjoyed your colorful photos and all the shots of street life

  8. hcyip says:

    Thanks for liking my post. I’ve always been interested in India, and I also wonder why Calcutta declined so much from the past when it was India’s capital and a place of so much culture and intellect, as you described it.

    • Mugen says:

      Hi There,

      Thanks for your comment. India, always an interesting place to explore. Hope one day you will enjoy visiting India. I have visited several cities in India but I cannot forget Calcutta. Stay connected… Cheers…

  9. sillystyle says:

    India is one of the places I would like to visit soon, hopefully during the Festival of Holi πŸ™‚

  10. Hey
    Thanks for share own travel experience for Indian city Kolkata.

Leave a Reply

