SWITZERLAND – Mt. TITLIS

As part of europe trip, my wife and I stayed 3 days in Lucerne and did a day tour to Mt. Titlis. We travelled by train from Milan to Lucerne, it was a 5 hours journey and arrived around 12 midnight. From station we took cab to hotel, which cost us CHF 27. We travelled many places around europe but had never felt so safe and secured like this. I had to agree that, Switzerland is a tourist friendly country.

20130331-173657.jpg We’re up early in the morning to catch train to go high into the Alps. Mount Titlis is one of the top attraction in Switzerland, located at 3200 meters above sea level in the Urner Alps. What gives the mountain its greatest attractions are snow all year round and revolving cable car.

We took train from Lucerne to Engelberg, the train journey unrolls perfect scenery, which I believe only Switzerland can produce such postcard scenery. After an hour we arrived at Engelberg, a small charming town surrounded by mountains and hills. We explore the town while walking to the Mt. Titlis cable car station.

20130331-185637.jpg
On our next trip to Switzerland, we plan to stay at Engelberg.

20130331-190327.jpg We took three different cable car rides to get up to the very top of Mt.Titlis. The 1st one is the mini cable car or Gondola, which I guess can accommodate max 4 person. As the cable car go higher we saw the whole Engelberg town and the surrounding mountains. After 20 minutes of ride we arrive at next stop to change to next cable car.

20130331-194316.jpg The second cable car was much bigger and crowded. The last one is the rotating cable car, which is very unique and amazing.

20130331-203638.jpg Once we reached the top, the view was beautiful. There is an Ice Cave quite nice but nothing too special. There is also restaurant and few gift shops but expensive, we brought our own food and drinks.

20130331-231921.jpg We were lucky to have a beautiful clear day with blue skies, it was a perfect day. We took Ice-flyer and for me it was the best experience. It was like an open cable car ride, between me and the ground there is just a metal bar.

20130401-104333.jpg We spent about 5 hours at top here before return back to Lucerne.

This entry was posted in SWITZERLAND and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to SWITZERLAND – Mt. TITLIS

  1. Beautiful pictures and lovely post – brought back many happy memories. I lived in Munich for many years and visited Switzerland often. Thank you for the smiles tonight.

  2. Rosemarie says:

    I am so glad to read your post about Mr. Titlis. I will be in Luzern this summer for several days and am considering what to do while I am there.

  3. Michael says:

    BEAUTIFUL VIEWS !!!

  4. I love Switzerland. It’s beautiful and the people are very polite. Enjoy your travels!

    • Mugen says:

      Hi Roxanne,

      Thanks for your comment.. yes, I agree, the people are very polite, friendly and helpful.. have a good day..

  5. Hajara Pitan says:

    Fantastic! Love the photos. I am not able to get photos on my blog to look properly arranged as yours do. Do you mind sharing how you get them so? Thanks.

  6. gillsn says:

    Nice reviews……..Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. javachips says:

    lovely photos and nice place.i love reading your post 🙂

  8. Hi there! Thank you for liking my post! It made my day! Your travel posts look so awesome! Makes me want to travel too! Haha

  9. So glad I came across your blog. Love the adventures and photos. I really enjoyed my trip to Switzerland many years ago and seeing your photos brought back lots of good memories.

  10. RDoug says:

    Ah, Switzerland. One of my favorite countries. Better be . . . my wife is from there. ;o)

    Also the locale for one of my favorite all-time movies — On Her Majesty’s Secret Service; George Lazenby, Diana Rigg, and Telly Savala; United Artist, 1969.

  11. Seth says:

    Hi Mugen!
    Great pictures you have there! I’m planning to head down next week. I’m wondering should I get the train ticket in advance or purchase when Im there? Thank you!

  12. fromgreentoblue says:

    Rotating cable car sounds intense! We planned a trip to Engelberg over the weekend, but sadly we were rained out.

  13. I love your photo-blogging of your trip! What a gorgeous place; the hubs and I definitely need to visit there at some point! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

